The Africa and African Diaspora Library announces the West African Writers Fellowship residents.

The Accra-based Library of Africa and the African Diaspora announced the West African Writers Fellowship residents on February 22, 2022.

The Library Of Africa and The African Diaspora is a research library, archive, writing residency and research institute dedicated to the work of African and Diaspora writers from the late 19th century to the present day.

In 2021, the library launched a call for a new residency program for writers who are citizens of any of the 16 West African countries. The residency offered committed writers working on a long-term project uninterrupted time and space to focus on their work in a supportive environment with other writers from across the region. It was supported by the ACP-EU Culture Programme: West Africa.

The call received 120 applications from nine West African countries and a mix of emerging and established writers and across genres, from fiction and poetry to creative non-fiction and writing. academic were selected. The eighteen residents who were revealed yesterday are;

  • Molara Wood (Nigeria)
  • Joseph Kaifala, (Sierra Leone)
  • Nzinga Bandida (Ivory Coast)
  • Cheryl S. Ntumy (Ghana)
  • Shedrack Akanbi (Nigeria)
  • FerdulisZita Odome Angone (Senegal)
  • Nathaniel Soonest (Nigeria)
  • Adam Nyang (Gambia)
  • Linford Kennedy Amankwaa (Ghana)
  • Epifania Amoo Adare (Ghana)
  • Ivana Okotowaa Ofori (Ghana)
  • Bartholomew C. Akpah (Liberia)
  • Okupe Mofiyinfoluwa (Nigeria)
  • Henneh Kwaku Kyereh (Ghana)
  • Araba Ofori Acquah (Ghana)
  • Akumbu Uche (Nigeria)
  • Gabriel Awuah Mainoo (Ghana)
  • Immaculate Abba (Nigeria)